Buzzing Through Life

It’s been awhile since I’ve given any poo updates.  Yes, feces.  I haven’t posted an update because, well, there really hasn’t been one.  Following my colonoscopy that found no abnormalities I went 100% low fat raw vegan.  The first few days were grand.  Defecating just like I had been early on in my adventure into living a LFRV life.  However, within several days that quickly came to an end.  My stool wasn’t moving as regularly as it should, bad gas, and thin stools….again.

Source

I’ve been having some serious heart to heart talks with myself in regards to this for the past several months.  Alas, I believe it is time for this leg in my journey of life to end.  After 2 years it is with sadness that I will walk away from trying to live a 100% LFRV lifestyle.  I can hear the arguments on both sides of the coin…especially those that doubted the lifestyle to begin with.  All I can say is don’t knock it til you try it.  I’m an advocate for finding the lifestyle that fits you and your body.  What works for me won’t necessarily work for you.  And vice versa.  I truly believe this is a lifestyle that many people can/will thrive on….even myself.  It’s been proven to be successful for me, but something has recently changed.

I will admit that I was much more loyal to the lifestyle early on, however I repeatedly gave it a go (100%) most recently only to be met with issues.  Advocates for this diet recommend 3000+ calories a day and not limiting your calories.  In other words eat all of the raw fruits and veggies you want.  Of course there are more specific guidelines, which I’m not going to go into, but I will say I followed those guidelines.  Once again, it worked….in the beginning.  I thrived greatly.  But something has changed.  I’m retaining my feces for far too long, have wicked gas, and am gaining weight like I never have.  I’d be lying to say that weight isn’t a concern.  Chances are this may be water weight, but it’s still a concern.  After coming off of weighing myself day in and day out prior to following this lifestyle, I haven’t weighed myself regularly in a long time.  I did so today only to find that I’ve gained a significant amount of weight recently.  Nothing on the lines of obese, but significant and I take note of that.  I knew this just in my body structure and the way my clothing fits.  The most important thing though, I don’t feel like I’m thriving any longer. And as I head toward my biggest training and racing season to date (still small by some standards) it’s most important that I’m healthy and thriving. 

Although I’m going to step away from the LFRV lifestyle, so many ideas have been invaluable, and there are many things/ideas that I’m taking with me and will continue to do. For instance, the ideas of simplifying your life and eating whole foods.  There’s so much more I’m taking with me, but I’d be here for a while if I wrote them all down.  Heck, remember, it’s through this part of my life journey that I had the guts to quit my job and move on!

As my blog states, we are ever-changing.  This is just another leg in my lifelong journey.

Source

A few questions people will ask, I’m sure.  “What about living shampoo/product free? Will you continue to do so?” Yes, I’ve been shampoo/product free for 7+ months.  It will be interesting to see how my hair does being away from LFRV.  It is my hope to continue caring for my hygiene in the same way I have been. 

I’m sure many people will also ask, “Well, what about veganism? Are you staying vegan?”  Yes, that’s a non-negotiable issue.  I’m vegan for health issues, but more importantly, it’s a moral issue for me.  This will not change.  Also, I am not closing the door to the idea of living a low fat raw vegan lifestyle.  There may be a time when I revisit the idea.

“What about my nickname ‘Banana Buzzbomb’?  Will this change?”   ‘Buzzbomb’ is for sure staying. As for ‘Banana’? Dunno yet.  I have been told by many people that when they think/see a banana, they do think of me.  It’s kind of my trademark. And I can’t just be plain ol’ Buzzbomb since I’m looking to purchase my own domain and Buzzbomb.com is already taken. 

What are your thoughts on my nickname?  Should I drop “Banana”?  If so,  what word should replace it?

Be Grateful and Keep Smiling =)

Comments on: "Will This Require A Name Change?" (5)

  1. It’s great that you’re open to change and evolution… kudos for remaining vegan, and I think you should keep the name! I mean, you’re not giving up wonderful bananas for good, are you?? xo

  2. Look at your header… lots of you and only 1 banana… but why change? Won’t you still enjoy bananas? Won’t you still like the name? I like the name, it’s you, regardless of what else you eat.

    Mine is roctherun… Sometimes I climb mountains… I am still a runner… you are still bbb

  3. Every time I see a buzzbomb, I think of you.

  4. oh girl, i can relate. I’ve had several parasites and i understand your feces talk. haha. Whats helped me is gluten free, low lactose (goats milk only), and lots of kombucha tea. A natural probiotic. Have you ever tried that?

    • Hey Lindsay! I’m currently taking a form of acidophilus by Kyo-Dophilus and Digest Gold enzymes by Enzymedica. I think they’ve helped a bit. As for lactose, I don’t do dairy so that’s a non-issue. I wasn’t eating much gluten given I was raw, so that wasn’t the current issue. I have yet to try kombucha tea although I’ve been intrigued. I’m tweaking a few things with my diet to test out. Will keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

