Buzzing Through Life

Banana Ice Cream

I know that when I posted about the Party Potatoes I said, “Don’t expect recipes on this blog.”  That may be changing.  I’m still not a person that cooks, nor do I see it really happening in the future, but I have a few things I want to try out.  So, you MAY be seeing more.  No promises!

Over the past several days I’ve been trying to figure out what to do with the overabundance of my bananas.  I had 2 shelves, 4 filled bags, and 2 cookie sheets of frozen bananas in the freezer. That was my normal inventory….and that was even without buying any this week.  Needless to say I needed to start moving them.  Although I do not plan on giving up bananas 100% (I love them far too much!) I seriously want to cut back in the immediate future. 

What can I do with all of these bananas?? 

I attempted to call the local soup kitchen/food bank to see if they’d be interested.  I could only find one in our hometown and they are closed on the weekend.  What?!  The next closest place is 25 minutes away.  (Although I can’t do anything about this now I’m making mental note of that…maybe I can change that in the future, even if it’s 10 years from now.  Dunno how, but maybe. What would you think about that?  A vegan soup kitchen?  Now there’s an idea!)

Thankfully I had a couple people say they were willing to take some off of my hands.  As for the rest…I was able to combine the cookie sheets and thanks to my cousin Jacki’s idea of mashing them and freezing, I used my food processor to blend a bunch to store in bowls and freeze. 

Now, here’s a “recipe” for you!  Banana ice cream!!

There are a few ways you can do this:

-Either way, start out with RIPE (banana bread making ripeness) bananas.

-You can freeze them whole and when you want “ice cream” throw them in a blender, add water or your choice of milk, and blend.  (You need the liquid in order to get things moving). Make sure to not use too much liquid or it won’t be ice creamy enough and more like a smoothie.

or

-Throw your fresh ripe bananas in a food processor (no additional liquids needed).  Allow them to process for several minutes.  Stop the processor and pulse it a bit to reduce the amount of chunks that are left.  Pour into a bowl and freeze.  Now you have ready-made banana ice cream!

-In either of these circumstances you can throw a bit o’ cocoa powder in for a chocolate covered banana taste.  Or use agave, honey, or other fresh fruit as a topping when served.

Yum!

Be Grateful and Keep Smiling =)

Update: Thanks to a friend on Facebook I was directed to our local homeless shelter (I knew there was one but didn’t know where) and they said “yes” to my donation in a heartbeat! The bananas are delivered and I know someone’s hungry tummy will be filled with yummy, banana, goodness.

Comments on: "Banana Ice Cream" (2)

  1. That sounds really good & super simple. I’ll have to give it a try.

  2. That looks amazing!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

