Taking Inventory

This past weekend marked the graduation of the Class of 2011. It’s then that I realized I graduated high school 10 years ago. Wow. Never did I think I’d be where I am at this point in my life. I do not say that in a negative way. To be quite honest, I had no idea where I’d be 10 years post high school.

Looking back through the years I think most would find it easier to see the have nots versus the haves, meaning what haven’t you achieved versus what you have achieved. In no way is this a “look at me” blog post. This is just my list of things that I have accomplished and need to be grateful for. I think everyone needs to do this every once in awhile. It’s kind of like your own personal inventory.

So over the past 10 years I’ve….

Married my high school sweetheart. Been married for almost 9 years. Have proved the statistics wrong as we’re still happily married.Lived in Louisiana, Michigan, and Ohio.

Bought several of our own cars (over the years), in our own names.

Went to college. Graduated. Passed state boards and am licensed.

Chosen a career path. Thought it was what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. After 8 years decided it wasn’t solely what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. Moved on and am happy with my choice.

Gone back to school to learn more and earned another license.

Trained to run. Ran many 5ks and a half marathon. Triathlon scheduled for this summer.

Bought a house and done MANY home improvements.

Have added to our clan with furry, feathered, and scaly kids.

Have become vegetarian and then vegan to better myself.

Traveled to Disney, Hawaii, Texas, Puerto Rico, NYC, Minnesota, and the Caribbean.

Been able to maintain a sane lifestyle through many financial ups and downs. We have no significant debt other than the typical house and cars.

Gotten to know my extended family better.

This is just a quick inventory. I’m sure if I sat down to think about it I could come up with much more…but why do I need to? Isn’t this enough to be grateful for?

Leave a Reply

