Thoughts While Running

My workouts give me time to have some deep (or not so deep) thoughts and experiences.  I love this time to myself.  Just me and Mother Nature.  As time goes on maybe you’ll see some of my thoughts/experiences on this blog.  I’d like to share two from today.

I passed an obvious beginning runner today.  How do I know he was a beginner?  He was doing the run, walk, run bit and had that red faced look.  Yep, I’ve been there.  He came out of his house and took off in front of me.  He remained in front of me for a bit, checking back to make sure I wasn’t gaining on him.  Anytime I got close he’d take off running.  Finally he turned around and headed back home walking.  He passed me, of course not making eye contact.  Icouldn’t pass up the opportunity to give him some encouragement.  I gave him a hearty, “Keep it up man!”  Like I said, I’ve been there.  Heck, I still have downer workouts when I need encouragement.  Always remember, a person should leave you happier than when they arrived.  I’m hoping my words encourage him to get out there again and keep at it.

Later on in my bike ride I had another experience that got me thinking.  When I pass people during my workouts I always acknowledge them in some way.  A smile, a “hi!”, or even a nod.  Most times the other person doesn’t acknowledge me.  No biggie. But I’ll tell you what, when it comes to coming across kids, they beat me to the punch!  They say, “Hi!!” and smile.  I even got a, “I like your bike!” the other day.  What happens to us once we become adults?  Although we need to be responsible, we also need to remember that little child left somewhere within us.  The one that doesn’t have any prejudices and sees everyone as an equal.

Be grateful and keep smiling =)

Source: DeviantArt - VerseJus
Leave a Reply

