No ‘Poo, Week 2

As of tomorrow I will be shampoo free for 2 weeks.  So far I have no complaints, however I thought I’d share my observations….

My hair seems thicker.  When I told David this he said, “Well, duh. It’s going to be thicker with the oil.” I guess that makes sense, but I didn’t expect it to have volume.  I thought it was just going to be like a wet mop with oil…flat and no life.  My current job doesn’t require me to have a fantastic appearance, so I’ve been able to “wash” (with water) and go.  With that being said, that’s what I’ve been doing most days.  However, I have done my hair several times, meaning dry and style, and have had no problems.  No hair products have been required.  I’ve been able to maintain my usual hair volume and it goes/stays where I want it to.  To be quite honest I think it looks like same as when I was using ‘poo, when styled. The first several days I used lemon juice, but now I’m just using water.

So, does it smell?  After the first few days I asked David to take a whiff.  He said it did smell pretty oily, but he could only smell me if he put his nose directly to my hair.  Later last week (just after 1 week no ‘poo) he took a whiff again.  He said it had gotten better.  So we’re moving in the right direction.

How about my skin?  I’ve read where people’s faces and backs have broken out after going ‘poo free.  My back is perfectly fine.  That’s no surprise given I’ve never had the issue.  The skin on my face is a bit bumpy.  I’ve never had perfect complexion, but it does seem more broken out.  My understanding is that will pass.  I’ve removed overt fats (fats that you can see…think avocados and nuts) from my diet for the near future in hopes that this will help with the transition.  I have continued a low fat raw vegan lifestyle throughout the entire past 2 weeks and plan to continue to do so long-term.

I wish I could say I’m 100% product free….hopefully someday.  As of now I am still using coconut oil for my legs and a Thai stone for deodorant.  After several days of not using shower gel on my legs to shave, I had to give in.  The skin was flaking off of my legs following showers.  So I’m back to the drawing board for another option.  Given we are currently in the summer months I can only imagine how it would be if I tried to shave without gel/cream/something in the winter months. I have cut back in major ways with my lotion and chapstick usage.  I only use them about 1-2 times a day, which is huge!  I was pretty addicted to those two items.  Believe it or not it hasn’t been hard, especially when I don’t think about it.

That’s where I am!  I’m happy with everything so far and don’t see myself going back to ‘poo anytime soon.

Be grateful and keep smiling =)

Leave a Reply

