Not Guilty?

I have been slammed between all of the jobs I’ve been working, hence my not blogging, but I had to stop for a moment today and post a little something.

I think most everyone in the United States knows Casey Anthony was found not guilty today.  As with many things, I have chosen not to get caught up in all that’s been going on with the trial.  I have no real reason, I just haven’t.  With that being said I know a very minimal amount of what supposedly happened and what was presented at the trial, other than a few tidbits here and there of basic information other people have passed along.  This blog post isn’t amount whether she should have been found guilty or not guilty.  As I said, knowing the little I know, that’s not for me to say.  However, it’s quite obvious what many, if not most, other people feel…that she should have been found guilty.  Which leads me to my main idea….

Post after post on Facebook and Twitter states, “I have lost faith in the United States judicial system.”  Now I’m not going to say our judicial system doesn’t have it’s problems.  It does.  What system doesn’t have problems, especially nowadays?  But that’s a whole different blog post.  It’s quick and easy to place blame on the system. Heck, I’ll admit, I kind of agreed with all of the comments, until I took a moment to step back and think it through.  Then I came across a comment from my friend Rob.  He said:

“Just remember it was not the system. The prosecutors did their job and did it well. The police provided the best possible evidence. The judge ensured the rules were followed. It was the jury of 12 “peers” who need to re-examine themselves and realize that sometimes circumstantial evidence Is the only link to the truth. The true tragedy here is that these jurors chose to listen to her lies and think, “Well, it could have been an accident,” or, “Aww, she has a host of mental problems.” I, once again, have not lost faith in the system but reaffirmed my lack of faith in people.”

Although I’m not one to want to place “blame” on anyone, i.e. the jurors, I agree with what Rob stated.

I think most anyone would say, “I’d hate to be one of the jurors on this case.” It would be hard to not agree.  Someone’s life is in your hands.  You have to be open-minded.  You are basically quarantined from the world so you can’t acquire further information or be swayed.  You are away from your job and oftentimes not getting paid much for your service. This goes for any case, but with it being high profile, all of those things are kicked up several notches.

Gandhi was quoted as saying, “Be the change you want to see in the world.” Although you can’t change the outcome of this specific trial I think it’s important for everyone to realize that if and when their time comes to serve of a jury, instead of trying to get out of it, they should take that moment to “be the change”.

Just a thought.

Be grateful and keep smiling =)

1 Comment

  1. I felt the same way too-I don’t see how the justice system has failed here. People forget that our system is based on a presumption of innocence and that the prosecution has a burden of proof to meet.

Leave a Reply

