Going Organic

Over the past few years organic foods have become more and more prevalent.  I never saw it as a big deal, but with all of the changes I’ve been making, organic foods have gotten my attention.  Although I won’t say I buy 100% organic, I am making a conscious effort to do so.  Originally I didn’t think I’d notice a difference between conventional and organic fruits and vegetables.  Boy, was I proven wrong.  Oftentimes the texture is totally different, and the taste too.  For instance I found organic bananas to be softer (no matter where they are in the ripening stage) and I had the best ever tasting organic blackberries the other day.

The big question is, “Do I have to buy all organic?” In my opinion, the best thing would be to buy all organic, but we don’t live in a perfect world.  With the help of my cousin, Halle, and a quick search on the internet, I found the “dirty dozen” that you should definitely consider buying organic.  These include: celery, peaches, strawberries, apples, blueberries, nectarines, bell peppers, spinach, cherries, kale, potatoes, and grapes.  I’ve also seen pears, kale, and raspberries on another list.  These fruits not only have thinner skins, but you tend to actually eat the skins.  In addition, research has shown that these fruits have the highest pesticide contamination.

So there you have it.  At this time my entire intake of food is produce, so this information is very important to me.  Although I don’t currently purchase 100% organic, I hope to in the future, and this list gives me a guideline to continue.

Be grateful and keep smiling =)

1 Comment

  1. I made the switch to organic bananas a few weeks ago too. They are a bit sweeter and the texture is way better. Plus I feel like they have a bitt of a longer ripeness sweet spot too. What I mean is, I think the conventional ones get over-ripe too fast compared to the organic ones, but it must be my imagination. With the cost still under $1/lb where I live, it’s an easy win to get my organic “dollar vote” in on the organic bananas.

Leave a Reply

