Adapt And Overcome

I’ve had my Tri bike for several days now.  I’m still enjoying the excitement of owning a new bike.  ‘Sparky’ is currently being housed in our dining room.  I find that everytime I walk by him I want to hop on, and oftentimes do.  I know this excitement will more than likely fade, but I am enjoying it now.  Not to mention, by hopping on, my body is adjusting to the fit of the bike.

I knew there’d be an adjustment in riding a Tri bike versus what I was used to.  But I must admit, I think it’s going to be a larger adjustment than I originally thought.  Mind you it’s been several weeks since I’ve ridden my bike since I’ve been targeting 5Ks.  However, with the Tri bike I feel like I’m so out of shape.  I’m tiring easier and my legs are sore the next day.  I attribute this to the different geometry of the bike.

So it looks like I have a bit of a challenge on my hands.  But, if I learned anything from D being in the Marines, I must Adapt and Overcome.  I’ve never let an obstacle stop me before and this is no different (with the exception of doing pushups.  I can’t do a pushup to save my life, no matter how hard or long I’ve tried. Any helpful hints on doing them are greatly appreciated!)

Be Grateful and Keep Smiling =)

Leave a Reply

