Old Injuries. New Challenges.

I’m sure anyone that is my age has had their share of injuries, whether sport-related or normal day-to-day injuries.  I’m no different.  Although I haven’t had many injuries per se, I’ve had one that has definitely affected my life.

Back when I was in 6th grade, in 1994, I joined our school’s ski club.  We would take weekly weekend trips to 1 of 2 nearby ski “resorts”.  I use the term lightly because they aren’t anything special.  If you want to hit the slopes, it’s something, but nothing special.  Although located in the snowbelt they have a hard time covering the slopes in snow and rely heavily on the snow machines, which tend to product more ice than snow.  Skiing proved to be quite a challenge for me.  I had a history of riding horses but that was the extent of my athletic ability.  As you will see from the pictures, I was a bit chunky as a kid.  This didn’t help my endeavor much.  Unfortunately, due to icy conditions, poor functioning of my rental equipment, and my lack of athletic ability, I suffered a broken right femur.  Yes, femur.  The largest bone in my body.   Broken clear in half. 

Due to the immediate contraction of the muscle upon fracturing and the age I was at the time, a pin was drilled into my knee, I was set in traction for a month, and then placed in a body cast.  The traction allowed the muscles to relax and stretch, while allowing the femur to heal.

After a month in traction I was taken down and placed in a body cast for another month.  The cast was my entire right leg, around my waist, up to my chest. 

If you’d like to read in more detail about my broken leg experience, check out this blog post.

I consider myself as having a full recovery from my accident.  I’m fairly happy with the function of my body.  However, over the past several years, as I’ve taken up running, I have found more challenges along the way. 

  1. I don’t have the full flexibility of my right leg as I do with my left.
  2. Like so many people that have had fractures I can feel weather changes before they arrive.  Although there is no longer any hardware located in my leg I have residual pain in the area. 
  3. I have found to have significant pain and swelling in specific areas around my knee, especially when adding mileage and even worse if done at a fast rate. 
  4. Along with pain I also tend to overcompensate, in other aspects (especially when tired), which then can throw my entire stride off, making further discomfort.
  5. Something else that has reared it’s ugly head over the past 2 years is discomfort is my piriformis muscle. Per wikipedia the piriformis muscle laterally rotates the extended thigh and abducts the flexed thigh. Abduction of the flexed thigh is important in the action of walking because it shifts the body weight to the opposite side of the foot being lifted, which keeps us from falling.  Although I’ve had this addressed through a doctor they’ve never officially said it was Piriformis Syndrome.  However, with further research I think this is the case.

Thankfully I have been able to keep this issue in check through stretches/massage and have not had to resort to medications (other than the random NSAID). However, I’m interested to see if my conditions, especially piriformis-related, will be exacerbated with not only adding more biking to my workouts, but also the position in which I have to sit.  I foresee this being a challenge, but as with everything, I’m ready for the challenge and look  forward to overcoming it.

So what previous injuries have you had that affect you to this day?  What has helped you overcome them?

3 Comments

    1. holy crap! i’ve been reading your blog but never came across your pelvis post. =( awesome that you’re back at it! definitely gives me encouragement on my rough days. do you have any residual issues…yet?

Leave a Reply

