Party Potatoes

Something you won’t see very much on my blog is cooking or recipes.  I don’t like to cook, so it’s no surprise that I eat 95% (if not more) raw. Of course that’s not the only reason, but must admit that it does have something to do with it.  With all of that being said, I’m posting a recipe today!  Please note, I definitely lump this dish into the comfort food category and wouldn’t consider it healthy.

For years my mom has made a dish we’ve called Party Potatoes for darn near any family gathering.  Basically it’s a casserole-like dish of potatoes. D has loved them from the get go. I must admit I was never a fan, but then again I think that’s mostly because I just never tried them.  A few years I gave them a try and they were YUMMY!  Upon going vegetarian my mom tweaked the recipe to make it lacto-ovo compliant.  Since going vegan I just pass on the potatoes since they contain dairy products. 

Recently party potatoes sounded good and I wanted to do something nice for D by making him something yummy that he loved.  As you can guess, this doesn’t happen too often.  Remember, I’m a horrible cook.  Most people say, “Since you’re vegan what do you feed D?”  My answer: Nothing. D and I work opposite shifts.  He’s responsible for what he eats. I’m responsible for what I eat.  No, I may not sound like Heidi Homemaker.  Give me a break, I do what I can.  Although D has dabbled in vegetarian/vegan lifestyle he still eats meat.  If and when the time comes, when I make a dish for D, it’s got to be vegan and he’s cool with it.  Unfortunately, oftentimes my dishes don’t work out how I have planned.  I don’t blame this on them being vegan, but my lack of cooking ability. (Although I can make a kick butt chocolate cake….blog post for a later date). So, I gave veganized Party Potatoes a whirl.  I apologize for my lack of photos.  This is my first recipe/food post and of course it wasn’t until it was in the oven that I thought about taking photos.  Whoops! Here’s my result:

The verdict?  Winner!!  Very, very yummy and I got lots o’ “Mmmms” from both D and my MIL. 

Want to try them out?  Here’s the regular recipe with my veganized changes in parentheses.

Party Potatoes

1 bag frozen cubed hashbrowns (NOT O’Brien)

1 can cream of chicken or cream of celery condensed soup (Neither are vegan – I used this recipe minus the poultry flavoring or celery)

1.5 c. grated cheddar cheese (Daiya)

16 oz. sour cream (Tofutti sour cream 12 oz – I used 1 and ¼ containers)

1 tsp. salt

¼ tsp. pepper

¼ c. minced onion – used 2 white onions – each approximately 1.5″ in size

1 stick of butter (Willow Run Soybean Margarine)

2 ¾ c. crushed Corn Flakes (more or less depending on taste)

Mix potatoes, condensed soup, cheese, salt, pepper, onion in bowl.  Once mixed, spread into casserole dish.  Top entire mixture with crushed Corn Flakes and drizzle with melted butter.

Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes until bubbly and golden.

Note: Upon research I found that as of 2011 Kelloggs Corn Flakes are no longer vegan as they are produced with lanolin-based Vitamin D3.  I chose to use an off-brand cereal and cannot say if it is truly vegan.  

Be Grateful and Keep Smiling =)

7 Comments

  1. I love this! In Utah, they’re called Funeral Potatoes ’cause everybody makes them for funerals because there’s always a large gathering of people, etc., and this makes alot. I’m going to try your vegan recipe though to make it a little healthier, because, as you know, if you make them the normal way, it can be pretty caloric.

Leave a Reply

