My Christmas Favorites

I’ve seen this Christmas questionnaire on several blogs and figured I’d join in the fun.  As you know from my previous VLOG I’m having some issues getting into the holiday spirit.  With only a few days left, maybe this will help…

Eggnog or hot chocolate?
Haven’t had eggnog or hot chocolate in several years.  Will admit I had some soynog this year.  Also, I happened across Westsoy’s Chocolate Peppermint Stick last year and fell in love.  I was surprised to find it at the store last week and admit that I splurged and bought some.  Yum!

Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree
Oh yes, presents are wrapped.  However, after the “To:” they say our names, but after the “From:” it’s  always blank.  Why?  Dunno.

Colored lights on tree/house or white?
Grew up with all white…inside and out.  After getting married we’ve always had colored…But, they have to have some sort of rhyme or reason.  i.e. all blue, all purple, or color theme (teal, purple, pink).  No random multicolored lights.  I secretly think white lights are classier.  How Christmas lights can be classy, I have no clue.

Do you hang mistletoe?
Yep.  Artifical one in the archway.

When do you hang your decorations up?
Day after Thanksgiving

What is your favorite holiday dish (excluding dessert)?
Stuffing and mashed potatoes.  Can you tell?

Favorite holiday memory as a child?
Making Christmas cookies.  Always a fun time.  And also counting down to Christmas by opening one gift a night from Grandma and Grandpa.

What is on your Christmas wish list?
Cyclometer, Running shoes, aerobar water bottle, and tools for my tri bike.

Appreciating the new show smell of my shoes last Christmas

Do you open gifts on Christmas Eve?
Only the ones from Grandma and Grandpa.

How do you decorate your Christmas tree
Uh, lights first, then garland/ribbon, then ornaments ?? We have a crap load of Hallmark ornaments so there’s no real theme.  However, we have done a themed tree once or twice in the past.
Snow? Love it or dread it?
Love the first snowfall, then I’m over it.  Unless I get off of work for it, then I love it.

Real tree or artificial tree?
We purchased a real tree last year and it was my first.  It was ok.  I think I’ll stick to an artificial tree in order to save trees.  Either way, the cats chew on it whether it’s real or artificial….hence why we do not have a tree this year.
 
Do you remember your favorite gift?
So many.  One that sticks out is the year we received a homemade, wooden Barbie “dream house”.  My mom went on to paint, wallpaper, and carpet the house. It was amazing.

What’s the most important thing about Christmas for you?
Giving and knowing that there are so many things out there that are “bigger” than you.

What is your favorite holiday dessert?
Christmas cookies

What is your favorite tradition?
Growing up, decorating the tree the day after Thanksgiving and going to the lighting ceremony. Now we have little to no traditions.  I guess I better get on that. Maybe that’s why my spirit is all messed up.

What tops your tree?
Star

Do you prefer giving or receiving?
Is this a trick question??  I love finding the “right” gift for someone and am known to make gifts (scrapbooks, videos) too.  Although, who doesn’t like to receive a gift once in awhile too.

What is your favorite Christmas song?
Used to be Carol of the Bells, until these:



Now I can’t help but think “Ding fries are done” or “Give a, give a, give a Garmin”….every time. I don’t really know what my fav is, but I can tell you my least favorites…12 Days of Christmas followed by The First Noel.

Candy canes, yuck or yum?
Rarely eat them, but when I do they’re good.

Favorite Christmas movie?
National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation
 
What do you leave for Santa?
Growing up it was cookies and milk.  Now, I’d probably leave some bananas 😉

Do you have a Christmas morning tradition?
Not anymore, but growing up us kids would sneak downstairs to “make sure Santa came” and then go back upstairs until mom and dad got up.  Once they got up they’d have us kids wait upstairs and then have us all come down at once while taking our picture. Always drove us nuts.

Do you prefer to shop on-line or at the mall?
Little bit of both

Christmas letter or Christmas card?
Although Christmas letters are more generic, since they’re not targeted at a specific person, I actually feel they’re more personal than just signing your name to a card.

2 Comments

  1. Hi Bananabuzzbomb,
    I just stumbled across this and, It truly is that time of year all over again, there is snow on the ground, and ornaments on the tree. Xmas is a magical time of calendar year with recollections and traditions that practically never look to fade. A particular of these traditions is the baking of Xmas cookies. My mom went to a cookie swap just the other day, where exactly she baked ten dozen of the exact same cookie to give absent and she brought house 10 dozen different types for the family to experience. There have been policies in this cookie swap in an attention to refrain from possessing five dozen chocolate chip cookies.
    Keep up the good work

  2. What a great list! 🙂 We are super alike…

    I love white lights on my tree… yep, classier for sure! And “permanent” trees (aka fake) are the way to go!

    I *heart* Christmas cookies AND the carbs of Christmas dinner! 🙂

    Hope you had a great one!

Leave a Reply

