I Married A Rockstar

I have training and triathlons. D has his drums. 

D’s been playing drums since he was in junior high. It was also his MOS while in the Marine Corps and he now volunteers as the percussion instructor with our former high school/junior high bands. It’s his passion. Although he’s dabbled in starting a band nothing has ever come to real fruition. He’s recently been focusing on his technique and been putting in more time behind the drum set to freshen up his chops a bit. He hopes to hook up with a band in the future to start playing even more.


I will be the first to admit I haven’t always been the most supporting wife. (Bar scenes and dealing with fangirls aren’t really my thing). I beat myself up over this all of the time. I wish I could provide unconditional support for D and his passion just as he does mine. It’s something I’ve been working on and will continue to work on.

I think it’s important for everyone to have their own hobbies and passions, whether shared or separate than those of your spouse/significant other. What are your passions? How about your spouse/significant other?

Be Grateful and Keep Smiling =)

6 Comments

  1. My husband is a big golfer (and a good one, too!), but I just can’t get into it. I don’t like it one bit and feel a little guilty because he actually started running last year (which is my thing, not his!). I just wasn’t meant to be a golfer – I’m not patient enough.

    1. I totally respect people who golf. With the exception of hitting balls at the driving range, I have never attempted. Like you, I’m not patient enough! That’s awesome that your husband has joined in running with you. When D runs with me I love it =)

  2. You are better than me. I put my husband’s drum set away in a closet. I don’t think he’s played it in 17 years, even though he’s good and he used to love it.

    He’s recently started biking though. Now that’s a hobby I can support LOL.

Leave a Reply

